on your mark

I’ve started, that’s right people shout it from the rooftops, I HAVE STARTED!!!!!!

After countless failed attempts, a few half hearted attempts & a smattering of somewhat sort of successful attempts, I have finally started the long winding at times upside down rollercoaster called weight loss & health gain.

I know I was supposed to start a week ago, but obviously that soooooo totally didn’t happen. Somewhere in between copious amounts of chocolate & a couple of catered lunches at work I totally forgot that I was supposed to be starting anything.

But alas, I am back on track, which is quite hilarious when you consider that I actually managed to derail myself off the track before I had even officially started it.

I must say that I am quite excited by the fact that I have finally got things moving. Sure it has only been one day, but hey that’s one day more than the no days last week & the week before that & the months & years before that.

So this week to ensure that I don’t go all crazy like I usually do when I try to lose weight, you know like starve myself or consist only on cabbage & water or maple syrup & cayenne powder, this time I am instead taking the ease myself into it approach.

As in I will be decreasing the amount of food I eat, but not so much so that I pass out in my office from low blood sugar, i’m just decreasing the portion size ever so slightly. I’m also replacing most (not quite ready for all) of the chocolate in my life for fruit. Which seems to be working because i’m eating strawberries, apple & kiwi fruit as I type this & I actually feel good about it.

As for exercise, well I am aiming for at least 30 minutes a day for 5 days this week. Last night I walked around the block which took about 45 minutes, yay for me!! Tonight I play on doing one of my Zumba dvd’s, then doing the whole walking around the block / zumba on alternate nights.

So yeah it has been a long & arduous road to get to this point, & it has taken alot of failed attempts, alot of procrastinating, & alot of denial about how fat & unhealthy I actually am, but i’m here now & i’ve made the first step.

And so the journey from Kaftan to Bikini officially begins……………………………………

Leave a Reply

