motivation & the lack there of

I think the biggest struggle when it comes to trying to lose weight, tone up & get fit is motivation & the lack there of. 

Finding not only the time but the motivation to work out & eat correctly is a constant battle that gnaws away at us on a daily basis. It’s just that life feels hard enough as it is sometimes without the added stress of attending fitness classes, power walking, grilling chicken & steaming vegetables. 

And I must admit that I’ve lost count of the number of excuses to prevent me from exercising that I have come up with over the years. Inclement weather, nail painting, hair washing, wardrobe rearranging, magazine reading, reality tv watching…………………. actually let’s just put it this way, if I sat down & wrote a list you’d still be waiting for me to finish it a week from now.

And I wish I was one of those people that got up at 4am, went for a 10km run, drank a shot of wheatgrass, ate super healthy all day & then did zumba, boxing & pilates classes after work. But I’m not, I wake up with barely enough time to get ready, eat reasonably well for the first half of the day, eat chocolate for the second half, get home from work & collapse on my bed as if I had just single handedly solved the world economic crisis, abolished poverty & ran the entire Australian government. 

I’m sure I’m not the only one that has written off an entire day by one seemingly bad thing. Just had sugar in your morning coffee, well there goes the whole day then, i’ll just continue eating what I want & well seeing as I’m doing that there’s really no point exercising today either.  

So I guess my question is, how do you change a lifetime of lacking motivation? How do you commit to working out & eating healthy on a daily basis if there are just so many roadblocks preventing you? Sure mine are mainly self-imposed, but they are still there & I’m struggling to find a way around them. 

 

i can do it

4 thoughts on “motivation & the lack there of

  1. It’s simple. Stop making excuses. Put that negative energy you have (where you complain and make excuses) to good use. Sit down, set yourself milestones and an overall goal. Then get down to business. And if you can’t do it yourself, then find someone who can help you. Your lack of energy comes from all the ‘shite’ you’re eating and the lack of exercise your doing. I know, I have been where you’re at. It sux. You feel exhausted. You hate the way you look. You loathe yourself for not being able to take better care of yourself. You’re stuck on this merry-go-around and just don’t know how to get off.

    I am launching my new online personal training site this week. If you get a chance head over to http://www.inshapeonline.com.au, and fill in the ‘Free Assessment’. I help people just like you understand how to boost their metabolism, regain control over their lives and to how to live a happier healthier life. So they wake up with a smile and go to be feeling equally as satisfied.

  2. I think the truth is it’s hard for many people. The fitness and weight loss industry is a billion dollar industry because it’s hard. I certainly don’t have any answers, I wish I did. I think the only thing you can do is keep trying. Each action you take comes with a choice. I’m hoping that by trying to be more conscious of actions from the choice I made about what to cook for dinner to how long I sat on the sofa watching TV, in time I’ll make better choices and find a better balance.

Leave a Reply

